Jump to content

Photo

Infinite loops


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
X-DiViiNe-WiCkEdNeSS-X

X-DiViiNe-WiCkEdNeSS-X

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Are infinite loops really illegal in official tournaments? For those of you that don't know what an infinite loop is here is an example:
Let's say I have a Junk Warrior on my side of the field, a Morphtronic Magnen Bar, and some random monster. Morphtronic Magnen Bar will gain JW and the random monsters attack and JW will gain his attack. Their attack will continue to rise together until they reach infinite attack.

Now for your opinion or the real fact. IS IT ILLEGAL?
Pride The Arrogant

#2
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme

Zeppeli Gyro Supreme

    Nyo-ho~!

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,774 posts
Actually, I don't believe Junk Warrior would gain any additional ATK, as he only gains ATK when he hits the field. Not any time afterward. Also, Magnen's effect has to be manually activated, and it's only once per turn.

Infinite Loops are illegal. You are not allowed to start an infinite loop willingly in a duel, and any card that is activated unwillingly to create an infinite loop will either be destroyed, returned to its original position, or disregarded at the discretion of the judge.

#3
evilfusion

evilfusion

    Master of Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon

  • Super Moderators
  • 18,545 posts
Infinite loops are disallowed. Of course they're illegal, because they're impossible to end. So, the rule is you cannot perform any action knowing it will trigger an infinite loop.

Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.

Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
1zn9x09.jpg


In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.

#4
darkwolf777

darkwolf777

    ~Makoto Nanaya~

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,511 posts

Are infinite loops really illegal in official tournaments? For those of you that don't know what an infinite loop is here is an example:
Let's say I have a Junk Warrior on my side of the field, a Morphtronic Magnen Bar, and some random monster. Morphtronic Magnen Bar will gain JW and the random monsters attack and JW will gain his attack. Their attack will continue to rise together until they reach infinite attack.

Now for your opinion or the real fact. IS IT ILLEGAL?


1) Morphtronic Magnen Bar gains attack once per turn. This is an Ignition Effect, not a Continuous Effect. The ATK increases when you choose to activate "Morphtronic Magnen Bar"'s effect to gain ATK based on the two other ATK position monsters. Once that attack is gained, no matter what happens to the other two attack position monsters that turn, the ATK gained by Morphtronic Magnen Bar gets does not change.

2) Junk Warrior only gains ATK when it is Synchro Summoned. This is a Trigger Effect, not a Continuous Effect. After the effect resolves, it does not matter what happens to the other Level 2 or lower monsters. The ATK gained by Junk Warrior will not change.

Yes, Infinite Loops are illegal BUT what you listed is NOT an infinite loop.
PSN: darkwolf7786
Games to Play: Blazblue: CS (Makoto Nanaya, Iron Tager, Platinum the Trinity), Castlevania: Harmony of Despair

Card Sets I've Made [Card Count, Last Updated]: (Please Comment!)
Touhou Project Set [90, 1/7/10]

The Heavens, The Earth, and a million squirrels call to me!!
Posted Image


#5
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme

Zeppeli Gyro Supreme

    Nyo-ho~!

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,774 posts
The reason infinite loops are illegal has a couple reasons. First and foremost, it's because you can't stop them. The game would never end (in most cases). Another reason is that they can create an unfair advantage which makes the game less fun for players, and causes cards to become more powerful than they are intended to be by their own effects, thus they would otherwise be given "banability" status when it otherwise could be avoided.

#6
Coral Blue

Coral Blue

    I am what I always was. Gleaming and empty.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
Does this include card effects like those of Marauding Captain and Magician's Valkeria? I believe those effects are considered infinite loops as well (i.e. Playing two Marauding Captains, preventing your opponent from attacking any Warrior-type monsters you control).


#7
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme

Zeppeli Gyro Supreme

    Nyo-ho~!

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,774 posts
No, it is not an infinite loop because there is nothing occuring as the effects work, and they are not bouncing their effects off of one another. I would explain it better, but I can't think of the proper wording.

#8
Roose Bolton

Roose Bolton

    Lord of the Dreadfort

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,861 posts
A good example of an infinite loop would be The Wicked Avatar + Hero Mask, which would result in the Wicked Avatar gaining infinite ATK.

#9
evilfusion

evilfusion

    Master of Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon

  • Super Moderators
  • 18,545 posts

Does this include card effects like those of Marauding Captain and Magician's Valkeria? I believe those effects are considered infinite loops as well (i.e. Playing two Marauding Captains, preventing your opponent from attacking any Warrior-type monsters you control).


What? No, those aren't infinite loops. Those are attack locks.

Infinite loops are a never-ending set of actions that occur without control. The Continuous Trap Pole Position, for example, makes the monster with the highest ATK immune to Spells. An infinite loop occurs if the monster affected by Pole Position loses its status as the strongest monster as a result of being immune to Spells, which means a different monster is now immune to Spells instead, so the Spell affecting the first monster is reapplied, which makes it the strongest monster, which means it's now immune to Spells, so the Spell affecting it no longer applies, so a different monster is now stronger...

That's an infinite loop.

Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.

Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
1zn9x09.jpg


In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.

#10
Coral Blue

Coral Blue

    I am what I always was. Gleaming and empty.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
Thank you everyone for enlightening me.

I really need to start taking children's card games more seriously xD

Curious: How does Wicked Avatar + Hero Mask = Infinite ATK? I must be missing something...


#11
darkwolf777

darkwolf777

    ~Makoto Nanaya~

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,511 posts

A good example of an infinite loop would be The Wicked Avatar + Hero Mask, which would result in the Wicked Avatar gaining infinite ATK.


This does not occur. Changing "The Wicked Avatar"'s name does not change itself as a reference to its own effect. The effect still considers the card with the changed name as "The Wicked Avatar" for the sake of its effect and would not consider itself for calculating its ATK.
PSN: darkwolf7786
Games to Play: Blazblue: CS (Makoto Nanaya, Iron Tager, Platinum the Trinity), Castlevania: Harmony of Despair

Card Sets I've Made [Card Count, Last Updated]: (Please Comment!)
Touhou Project Set [90, 1/7/10]

The Heavens, The Earth, and a million squirrels call to me!!
Posted Image


#12
Roose Bolton

Roose Bolton

    Lord of the Dreadfort

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,861 posts

This does not occur. Changing "The Wicked Avatar"'s name does not change itself as a reference to its own effect. The effect still considers the card with the changed name as "The Wicked Avatar" for the sake of its effect and would not consider itself for calculating its ATK.


That'll teach me for not knowing my rulings. Thanks for that clarification.

#13
DARKPLANT RISING

DARKPLANT RISING

    God's In His Heaven, All's Right With the World

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,147 posts
Most cards with infinate loops were banned by Konami anyways.

If a new one comes out... it becomes unusable anyways. Anyways, it's like that anyways.

#14
evilfusion

evilfusion

    Master of Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon

  • Super Moderators
  • 18,545 posts
There's a difference between an infinite loop and a regular loop. The key difference is control. You cannot control an infinite loop, so you cannot stop it, which is why the game state shuns them. A regular loop is an action you can do an unlimited number of times, such as the Butterfly Dagger + Gearfried + Spell Absorption/Royal Magical Library/whatever combo you're doing. You can do the action of Equipping Dagger to Gearfried, who destroys it, and return Dagger to your hand. You can then perform this as often as you like, but notably you can choose to stop doing it.

Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.

Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
1zn9x09.jpg


In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.

#15
sebihp2007

sebihp2007

    Because Life is Phun

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
*sigh* .. if you want an example of infinite loop, here:

There is a card out there (forgot the name) which makes it so that the monster with the highest ATK is not affected by Spells ..

Now, say you have monster A on the field with 1500 ATK and monster B with 2000 ATK while that card is in play.. Currently, monster B is not affected by spell cards. Say you use Axe of Despair (an equip card which increases the attack of a monster by 1000) on monster A .. its attack will increase from 1500 to 2500; now he is the strongest monster of the field and, hence, it is not affected by spell cards; so he's not affected by Axe of Despair. Therefore, his ATK is 1500. But now he is no longer the strongest monster out there. So he can be affected bY Axe. His ATK is now 2500.. But he is not the strongest monster on the field, etc, etc ..

Infinite Loops are not allowed because you can NOT take the result of an infinite loop. What would happen in the above situation? You can see what happens, but what will be the final result? You can't tell .. that's why you are not allowed to start an infinite loop ..

#16
evilfusion

evilfusion

    Master of Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon

  • Super Moderators
  • 18,545 posts

*sigh* .. if you want an example of infinite loop, here:

There is a card out there (forgot the name) which makes it so that the monster with the highest ATK is not affected by Spells ..

Now, say you have monster A on the field with 1500 ATK and monster B with 2000 ATK while that card is in play.. Currently, monster B is not affected by spell cards. Say you use Axe of Despair (an equip card which increases the attack of a monster by 1000) on monster A .. its attack will increase from 1500 to 2500; now he is the strongest monster of the field and, hence, it is not affected by spell cards; so he's not affected by Axe of Despair. Therefore, his ATK is 1500. But now he is no longer the strongest monster out there. So he can be affected bY Axe. His ATK is now 2500.. But he is not the strongest monster on the field, etc, etc ..

Infinite Loops are not allowed because you can NOT take the result of an infinite loop. What would happen in the above situation? You can see what happens, but what will be the final result? You can't tell .. that's why you are not allowed to start an infinite loop ..


This, including the specific example, was established in this post by me:

Infinite loops are a never-ending set of actions that occur without control. The Continuous Trap Pole Position, for example, makes the monster with the highest ATK immune to Spells. An infinite loop occurs if the monster affected by Pole Position loses its status as the strongest monster as a result of being immune to Spells, which means a different monster is now immune to Spells instead, so the Spell affecting the first monster is reapplied, which makes it the strongest monster, which means it's now immune to Spells, so the Spell affecting it no longer applies, so a different monster is now stronger...

That's an infinite loop.


Although one small correcton. It's not that you can't tell the final result...it's that the final result forever fluctuates with no control.

Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.

Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
1zn9x09.jpg


In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.

#17
sebihp2007

sebihp2007

    Because Life is Phun

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts

This, including the specific example, was established in this post by me:


Srry about that, only read to the point where somebody said that having 2 Command Knights was an infinite loop

#18
Mysty

Mysty

    Duelist of Mysterious Strategies

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,372 posts
Evilfusion, remember that, even though you cannot purposely start in an infinite loop, sometimes they can legitimately happen, especially if Pole Position is involved. If this happens, Pole Position is destroyed and nothing is destroyed by Pole Position's effect.

Example: I'm playing handless and I have Muka Muka equipped with Axe of Despair (ATK 1600). My opponent has Pole Position and Dark Grepher (ATK 1700). I draw a card at the beginning of my turn, increasing Muka Muka's ATK by 300 (ATK 1900 -> 900 -> 1900...). Pole Position is destroyed and nothing is destroyed by its effect.
What kind of Magic am I?

#19
evilfusion

evilfusion

    Master of Galaxy-Eyes Prime Photon Dragon

  • Super Moderators
  • 18,545 posts
Yes, I know. You cannot purposely start one or perform any action that will trigger it, but if one occurs unintentionally, the card causing it is destroyed. Pole Position is just that card that makes the most infinite loops in the game, due to its effect.

Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.

Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
1zn9x09.jpg


In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.

#20
Armadilloz

Armadilloz

    11/10

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38,683 posts
ITT: Junk Warrior's effect is continuous
And as the above reasons have stated, if an infinite loop happens, then all the cards that take part in said loop are just simply auto-destroyed.

95659KazmaSig.jpg
[Space for rent]





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users