Jump to content

Welcome to Yugioh Card Maker Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Cost vs Effect


Necrobump!

Guest, the last post on this topic is over 30 days old and a new post will be considered as necrobumping!



This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1
JadenxAtemYAOI

JadenxAtemYAOI

    Rabid Yaoi Fangirl

  • Advanced Members
  • 3,744 posts
    Last Visit Dec 10 2017 03:46 PM
Just so I can settle an argument with an idiot. If someone uses a card like magic jammer and discard Silva, doesn't that mean that Silva is NOT special summoned? Anyway discuss cost and effects

Aximil says I blocked him a week after an argument but this thread begs to differ.

 


#2
evilfusion

evilfusion

    God-Pharaoh

  • Legendary Members
  • 21,799 posts
    Last Visit Mar 26 2018 05:00 PM
In that specific scenario, Magic Jammer's discard is a cost, and Sillva needs to be discarded by an effect, so Sillva will not be Summoned.

It's usually pretty clear when reading a card whether something is a cost or an effect. For one, costs are usually stated first in the card, after activation requirements.
Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.
Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
Posted Image

In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.


#3
Azuh

Azuh

    You're unsustainable

  • Legendary Members
  • 12,822 posts
    Last Visit Today, 01:08 PM
Cards should of said (This is a cost) on the card effect for newer players to extinguish between these

#4
JadenxAtemYAOI

JadenxAtemYAOI

    Rabid Yaoi Fangirl

  • Topic Starter
  • Advanced Members
  • 3,744 posts
    Last Visit Dec 10 2017 03:46 PM
Yes and isn't a card like Gray wing, isn't it's effect a cost like magic jammer?

Aximil says I blocked him a week after an argument but this thread begs to differ.

 


#5
evilfusion

evilfusion

    God-Pharaoh

  • Legendary Members
  • 21,799 posts
    Last Visit Mar 26 2018 05:00 PM
Yes, also a cost.
Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.
Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
Posted Image

In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.


#6
JadenxAtemYAOI

JadenxAtemYAOI

    Rabid Yaoi Fangirl

  • Topic Starter
  • Advanced Members
  • 3,744 posts
    Last Visit Dec 10 2017 03:46 PM
Thanks, and does anyone think they'll ever come up with a card to counter Obelisk's effect?

Aximil says I blocked him a week after an argument but this thread begs to differ.

 


#7
Solemn Silver

Solemn Silver

    Susan

  • Members
  • 2,201 posts
    Last Visit Apr 05 2014 08:08 AM

Thanks, and does anyone think they'll ever come up with a card to counter Obelisk's effect?


Activate only when your opponent summons or activates "obelisk teh tormentor"'s Effect

You win.

And i think saying its a cost would be a great idea. I was gonna make ice barrier dark worlds, but noooo. Brionac had to be a cost effect :(

Lightsworn and Scrap main since BETA

 

Come at me bro


#8
-Berserker-

-Berserker-

    Darliiiing!!

  • Legendary Members
  • 11,678 posts
    Last Visit Jun 13 2015 09:29 AM

Yes, also a cost.


I have doubts about that one.

dd6.gif

"But that's enough. If there is overwhelming power and speed, there is no room for technique. Techniques are something humans invented to compensate for their weaknesses."

GYFTS


#9
Azuh

Azuh

    You're unsustainable

  • Legendary Members
  • 12,822 posts
    Last Visit Today, 01:08 PM

I have doubts about that one.


Discarding the card is the cost to activate "Gray Wing's" effect.

It will not work with "Dark World" monsters.

#10
evilfusion

evilfusion

    God-Pharaoh

  • Legendary Members
  • 21,799 posts
    Last Visit Mar 26 2018 05:00 PM

I have doubts about that one.


Like I've said, it's usually very easy to tell just by where the lines are on the card, or how it's worded.

"Discard one card from your hand during Main Phase 1" is, in one sentence, both the cost and condition. You can't use the effect any other time during the Turn except Main Phase 1. Discarding the card is the cost needed to activate the effect. The Effect then follows.
Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.
Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
Posted Image

In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.


#11
Toffee.

Toffee.

    It's best if you just forget about me.

  • Legendary Members
  • 0 posts
    Last Visit Apr 01 2018 03:15 PM
If "Discard [X]" is the first line of text -> Cost.
If "Discard [X]" is the last thing mentioned -> Its not a cost. Hence, Darkworld Lightning.
Posted Image

#12
evilfusion

evilfusion

    God-Pharaoh

  • Legendary Members
  • 21,799 posts
    Last Visit Mar 26 2018 05:00 PM
True. Costs are always stated before the effect itself.

Which means The Creator's discard is not a cost, because it's done after the monster is Special Summoned.
Wiping out 500,000 LP on my second turn: Priceless.
Epic
Best Ragequit
Neo Galaxy-Eyes Hall of Fame
Posted Image

In a perfect world we'd have 12 evilfusion's and the rest of us could retire.


#13
Guest_PikaPerson01_*

Guest_PikaPerson01_*
  • Guests
    Last Visit
Use the Q&A thread next time.