Custom Card Game Template Help

asterr259

I'm designing a card game, but I'm not sure which one of templates is better. Version 1 is older, and I think it's visually appealing, but I feel dissatisfied with it for some reason. Version 2 seems less appealing but sometimes simplicity is better, but I feel it has more manageable room for improvement when I add new things to the CCG I'm working on. Which do you think is better?

I'm not really good with Graphic Design, and I'm pretty much self-taught, but these were made in GIMP which is pretty much all I have.

[spoiler=Version 1]ebonrod1.jpg[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Version 2]ebonrod2.jpg[/spoiler]

Version 2 does look better; however, I don't want to send you in the wrong direction. Firstly i don't know if what you have on the card now all that's aspects of the game itself. If it is, then you seem to have areas that are just taking up space (this part is just a minor detail of course and doesn't really matter that much.). I would also advise doing something with what i infer to be a power box ( bottom "7000" box). It merges in with the text box ( which I'm glad you have.). It doesn't seem bad now, but in the future if you get cards with longer text, it might become a problem. Other than that nothing really seems off setting; however, i would like to see some kinda of information on the card ( i mean like the date created or creator this will not only make it "seem" more professional and filled out, but also make it easier for you as a producer of cards to seperate and identify these cards.).

I am interested in how this will shape out, so please keep me informed in your progression. would you also help me have a better feel of the game mechanics, or the features added in the game? For instance, does the background color symbolize something such as the attribute, or type of card.