"Chain link 1, 2, 3, 4" - a guide to playing Shaddoll

ihop

$_1.JPG?set_id=880000500F

wish I had this mat ;-;

Hello everyone, ihop here. I've been playing Shaddolls for many months now and I've enjoyed them very much - they're very competitive and fun to play, as well as somewhat challenging so I definitely think playing them has made me a better player, especially since I'm normally inclined to play thoughtless backrow decks (Yosenju would probably have been my deck of choice this format if I didn't have dolls)

[spoiler=About Shaddolls]

The basic idea of Shaddolls is to send them to the graveyard in order to make fusion monsters, which then triggers the effects of the smaller monsters. Every main deck Shaddoll monster has 2 effects - a flip effect, making them all flip monsters, and and an effect which triggers when they are sent to the graveyard by a card effect. It's important to note that it says "by" and not "for", therefore they cannot be triggered by cards that send to graveyard as a cost, for example Raigeki Break. Shaddolls have 6 fusion monsters, 5 of which are in the TCG currently, all of which require a Shaddoll monster as well as one monster with the attribute of the card itself as materials. All fusion monsters have effects that punish or restrict Special Summoning in some way, as well as all having the effect that they add a "Shaddoll" spell or trap card from your graveyard to your hand when sent to the graveyard (these ones can be triggered by anything)[/spoiler]

[spoiler=Shaddoll Monsters]

ShaddollBeast-DUEA-EN-R-1E.png