Jump to content

Photo

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


  • Please log in to reply
15556 replies to this topic

#15541
The True Sp33dn0id

The True Sp33dn0id

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,325 posts

Well, costs go before the semicolon, but magic jammer has no such symbol because it doesn't have any cost.

Think of it this way: costs happen before the chain resolves, effects happen during.

Almost true. Targeting is also considered part of the effect even though it happens before resolution. That's why cards like the Kozmo ships say specifically that they "Cannot be targeted by card effects.", rather than "Cannot be targeted to activate a card or effect." which is the wording that the Atlanteans get for triggering off being used to pay a cost. This is also why you get to choose targets for Normal Spells, such as Monster Reborn, that are milled by Diamond Dude even though you don't pay the costs for those Normal Spells, such as discarding for Destiny Draw.



#15542
Dragulas

Dragulas

    I am the Dragon, and you, are my prey

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts

Can stardust dragon be chained to an effect that negate the activation (and destroy) spell/traps?. Since negating their activation means they are not on the field yet, it souldnt be able to or im missing something?


First Card


Show

#15543
Zaziuma

Zaziuma

    Ti'zo the Drive-Imp

  • Exiled
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,198 posts

Can stardust dragon be chained to an effect that negate the activation (and destroy) spell/traps?. Since negating their activation means they are not on the field yet, it souldnt be able to or im missing something?

If you negate the activation, it is not considered as being on the field, but there is nothing preventing Stardust Dragon from negating the activation of a Spell/Trap Card, those are activated on the field, if they are negated, they were never considered to be on the field, if they were not, they were considered to have been on the field.



#15544
Azuriena

Azuriena

    Anti-Pony

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

The Japanese text (of what we have) for Subterror Nemesis Warrior's Trigger Effect explicitly states "can be activated even during the Damage Step". This is similar to how cards like Cloudy Weathery Pattern explicitly state "except during the Damage Step" in their Japanese text even though they would otherwise by all means be able/unable to activate at those times. In such regular cases, whether something can be activated during the Damage Step is generally relegated to their DB entries.

 

(Contrast with the Behemoths' effects that activate in the hand that don't appear to have received such text.)



#15545
Darj

Darj

    Elegy of Emptiness

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,621 posts

A Zoodiac with Whiptail attached to it and with an ATK equal or less than 1800 battles a face-down Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit. Can Snow Rabbit effect be chained to the activation of the Zoodiac's Whiptail effect and destroy the Zoodiac? I ask because Snow Rabbit not only is missing a "except during the Damage Step" clause, also Whiptail effect activates after damage calculation so that should give Rabbit an opening to activate... right?


vvb9i54.jpg

— Don’t forget.
Always, somewhere,
someone is fighting for you.
— As long as you remember her,
you are not alone.

Stand

bkWHGLt.gifwlWp4Vr.gif
Credits: cat6757(dA) - Neko-Slay(dA)


#15546
notcleverusername

notcleverusername

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 339 posts

A Zoodiac with Whiptail attached to it and with an ATK equal or less than 1800 battles a face-down Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit. Can Snow Rabbit effect be chained to the activation of the Zoodiac's Whiptail effect and destroy the Zoodiac? I ask because Snow Rabbit not only is missing a "except during the Damage Step" clause, also Whiptail effect activates after damage calculation so that should give Rabbit an opening to activate... right?

Ghost Ogre's effect is a Quick Monster effect, which cannot activate in the Damage Step unless it specifically negates activations. Which Ghost Ogre does not.



#15547
Azuriena

Azuriena

    Anti-Pony

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Ghost Ogre's effect is a Quick Monster effect, which cannot activate in the Damage Step unless it specifically negates activations. Which Ghost Ogre does not.

 

There are more Quick Effects than just those that negate activations that can be activated during the Damage Step (namely those that modify ATK/DEF). But only those that negate activations can be activated once you reach damage calculation in a given Damage Step (unless a card says otherwise like with Number S39), so yes, Ghost Ogre's effect can't be activated in this scenario.



#15548
Octosquid

Octosquid

    Creative Cephalopod

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts

Can you banish a card that can be banished from the GY for a Ritual Summon (For example: Sphere Kuriboh or Arisen Gaia the Fierce Knight) for Super Soldier Synthesis?

 

~ Example Scenario ~

 

You have 3 cards: Super Soldier Synthesis, Black Luster Soldier, and Effect Veiler in your hand. Furthermore, you have Arisen Gaia the Fierce Knight in your GY, and Sage with Eyes of Blue (don't ask why XD) in your Deck.

 

Can you activate Synthesis, which sends 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster (1 from hand and 1 from Deck) to GY, send Effect Veiler from your hand to GY, then banish Arisen Gaia the Fierce Knight to Ritual Summon BLS?

 

Also, can you instead banish Gaia and send Sage WEOB to the GY from the Deck to fulfill the requirement?

 

 

I'm asking since the only ruling I've found on the Wiki related to it is one on Advanced Ritual Art, which states that monsters cannot be banished for its effect, but I think it's because it requires Normal Monsters, and anything like Sphere Kuriboh wouldn't be a Normal Monster. Also, even though Super Soldier Synthesis specifies a location for the used monsters, other Ritual Spells specify Tributes being from the hand or field, but in that case you can still use stuff like Sphere Kuriboh. Other than location, Arisen Gaia fits the other requirements (DARK monster whose Level is lower than 8).


Posted ImagePlaudite, acta est fabula! ^.^
Thanks to Dae for the member card. Thanks to Sleepy for the Omanyte Gijinka.

#15549
Dragulas

Dragulas

    I am the Dragon, and you, are my prey

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts

Can you banish a card that can be banished from the GY for a Ritual Summon (For example: Sphere Kuriboh or Arisen Gaia the Fierce Knight) for Super Soldier Synthesis?

 

~ Example Scenario ~

 

You have 3 cards: Super Soldier Synthesis, Black Luster Soldier, and Effect Veiler in your hand. Furthermore, you have Arisen Gaia the Fierce Knight in your GY, and Sage with Eyes of Blue (don't ask why XD) in your Deck.

 

Can you activate Synthesis, which sends 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster (1 from hand and 1 from Deck) to GY, send Effect Veiler from your hand to GY, then banish Arisen Gaia the Fierce Knight to Ritual Summon BLS?

 

Also, can you instead banish Gaia and send Sage WEOB to the GY from the Deck to fulfill the requirement?

 

 

I'm asking since the only ruling I've found on the Wiki related to it is one on Advanced Ritual Art, which states that monsters cannot be banished for its effect, but I think it's because it requires Normal Monsters, and anything like Sphere Kuriboh wouldn't be a Normal Monster. Also, even though Super Soldier Synthesis specifies a location for the used monsters, other Ritual Spells specify Tributes being from the hand or field, but in that case you can still use stuff like Sphere Kuriboh. Other than location, Arisen Gaia fits the other requirements (DARK monster whose Level is lower than 8).

Those 2 (Gaia and sphere Kuriboh) can only apply the banishment for a traditional ritual summon, synthesis performs in a specific way they shouldnt be able to, it would be like trying to do that when using kaleidoscope, you can only use materials from where its specified


First Card


Show

#15550
Octosquid

Octosquid

    Creative Cephalopod

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts

Thanks for answering, but... you can use them for Kaleidoscope. Sources: Wiki, Database

For reference, Nekroz Mirror works with them too. Mirror: Wiki Database

 

Also, all Ritual Spells specify a location that monsters like Sphere Kuriboh cannot fulfill (hand or field) except by its own effect. It would makes sense that they would only be Tribute substitutes if they had the wording: "banish this card from the GY instead of 1 of the monsters that would be Tributed", but none of those cards have that specific wording. They only have "banish this card from the GY as 1 of the monsters required for the Ritual Summon" and the monsters sent to the GY by Super Soldier Synthesis are considered "used for the Ritual Summon". Since the effects of Beginning Knight and Evening Twilight Knight are still applied.

 

That's why I'm super confused.

 

Edit: I realize that nobody uses Rituals anymore, especially BLS Rituals, so that's probably why the rulings are really difficult to find/nonexistent. I'll go with Dragulas's answer unless anybody has any other thoughts on it. As you can probably tell by now, these questions are for Custom Cards ^.^;


Posted ImagePlaudite, acta est fabula! ^.^
Thanks to Dae for the member card. Thanks to Sleepy for the Omanyte Gijinka.

#15551
Azuriena

Azuriena

    Anti-Pony

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Thanks for answering, but... you can use them for Kaleidoscope. Sources: Wiki, Database
For reference, Nekroz Mirror works with them too. Mirror: Wiki Database
 
Also, all Ritual Spells specify a location that monsters like Sphere Kuriboh cannot fulfill (hand or field) except by its own effect. It would makes sense that they would only be Tribute substitutes if they had the wording: "banish this card from the GY instead of 1 of the monsters that would be Tributed", but none of those cards have that specific wording. They only have "banish this card from the GY as 1 of the monsters required for the Ritual Summon" and the monsters sent to the GY by Super Soldier Synthesis are considered "used for the Ritual Summon". Since the effects of Beginning Knight and Evening Twilight Knight are still applied.
 
That's why I'm super confused.
 
Edit: I realize that nobody uses Rituals anymore, especially BLS Rituals, so that's probably why the rulings are really difficult to find/nonexistent. I'll go with Dragulas's answer unless anybody has any other thoughts on it. As you can probably tell by now, these questions are for Custom Cards ^.^;


You make a good point with Dragulas's explanation being insufficient.

It's an exercise in futility to determine why it works this way at this time.

#15552
Dragulas

Dragulas

    I am the Dragon, and you, are my prey

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts

Thanks for answering, but... you can use them for Kaleidoscope. Sources: Wiki, Database

For reference, Nekroz Mirror works with them too. Mirror: Wiki Database

 

Also, all Ritual Spells specify a location that monsters like Sphere Kuriboh cannot fulfill (hand or field) except by its own effect. It would makes sense that they would only be Tribute substitutes if they had the wording: "banish this card from the GY instead of 1 of the monsters that would be Tributed", but none of those cards have that specific wording. They only have "banish this card from the GY as 1 of the monsters required for the Ritual Summon" and the monsters sent to the GY by Super Soldier Synthesis are considered "used for the Ritual Summon". Since the effects of Beginning Knight and Evening Twilight Knight are still applied.

 

That's why I'm super confused.

 

Edit: I realize that nobody uses Rituals anymore, especially BLS Rituals, so that's probably why the rulings are really difficult to find/nonexistent. I'll go with Dragulas's answer unless anybody has any other thoughts on it. As you can probably tell by now, these questions are for Custom Cards ^.^;

I always forget kaleido can still use materials as a normal ritual summon, my point (which wasnt correct apparently) only applied if kaleido was extra deck exclusive (materials). Guess we always learn something new


First Card


Show

#15553
MetalSonic

MetalSonic

    Desperate Sellout

  • 𝔻Ө𐌋𐌋𝔸𝓡$
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,858 posts
  • Spouse:Sari Sumdac
miscellaneousaurus is applying its effect to make all Dinosaurs unaffected by card effects. I then special summon Ultimate Conductor Tyranno by its summon condition. Can its summon be negated by Solemn Warning or does Miscellaneousaurus prevent that?
Posted Image
Discord tag: Metal Sonic#4736

#15554
Darj

Darj

    Elegy of Emptiness

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,621 posts

The Summon can still be negated. A way to see Summon negation is that it prevents the monster from reaching the field in the first place. So, in this case, it's not under your control yet, and thus it cannot be protected by Miscellaneousurus anyway. But even if Miscellaneousaurus protected Dinosaurs anywhere, AFAIK Summon negations would still apply.


Edited by Darj, 17 August 2017 - 01:44 PM.

vvb9i54.jpg

— Don’t forget.
Always, somewhere,
someone is fighting for you.
— As long as you remember her,
you are not alone.

Stand

bkWHGLt.gifwlWp4Vr.gif
Credits: cat6757(dA) - Neko-Slay(dA)


#15555
Azuriena

Azuriena

    Anti-Pony

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

But even if Miscellaneousaurus protected Dinosaurs anywhere, AFAIK Summon negations would still apply.

 

Why do you think so?



#15556
MetalSonic

MetalSonic

    Desperate Sellout

  • 𝔻Ө𐌋𐌋𝔸𝓡$
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,858 posts
  • Spouse:Sari Sumdac
Alright, I missed the part where it says "you control".
Posted Image
Discord tag: Metal Sonic#4736

#15557
Darj

Darj

    Elegy of Emptiness

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,621 posts

Why do you think so?

Yeah... was about to edit my post to remove that statement because I'm not actually sure. My first thought was that Summon negation is unique in that it applies in some sort of "limbo" or transition between the field and wherever the monster is coming from (hand, Extra Deck, etc.), so even if Miscellaneousaurus protected Dinos on your field, hand, GY, etc. it wouldn't cover that "limbo" where the Summon negation is taking effect. So, I guess in the end it depends on how such hypothetical effect is written.

Besides, to protect from Summon negation, Konami resorts to "the Summon cannot be negated" effects, which makes me think that summon negation is on a different cantegory, so to speak, of effects that cannot be covered by "unaffected by effects" protections.

Edited by Darj, 17 August 2017 - 02:34 PM.

vvb9i54.jpg

— Don’t forget.
Always, somewhere,
someone is fighting for you.
— As long as you remember her,
you are not alone.

Stand

bkWHGLt.gifwlWp4Vr.gif
Credits: cat6757(dA) - Neko-Slay(dA)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users