Writing Music That Fits Lyrics

ShimoHkun1

So I have a slight issue:

I am (if I do say so myself) an excellent poet and lyricist, with no limit to my writings. My problem is that I write a considerable amount of lyrics with no music attached and I am in a slump when it comes to attaching music to them. So, does anyone have any advice as to how I should go about writing the music. The genre I would like to sit in is in the spectrum of Rock-Metal, however I am open to any ideas.

Thanks a ton!

I'm no professional songwriter by any means, but I've written music to standalone lyrics that my friends have given to me before, so I may as well throw in my two cents here.

First of all, you should probably analyze the flow of your lyrics. Read them aloud to yourself. Does your voice fluctuate at different points? What syllables do you stress? Does it have an even meter, an odd meter, or did you make the mistake of writing in free verse?* Can you group your lines into couplets or stanzas? All of these things should be considered when adapting lyrics to music.

The next thing would be to determine what kind of vocals and vocal delivery you're going for. Are the lyrics going to be sung in a high range or a low range? Based on how you read your lyrics aloud, you can experiment with setting words to relative pitches to create a melody. I know screamo or rap are always options, and unfortunately this step doesn't apply if you choose to utilize either of those. But they do tie into my next step.