How would this work with Fusions that require specific, listed materials? Would it require a duplicate of either material? What about Synchros? Would it need an extra Tuner, or a non-Tuner, or it allows for either?
I suggest a different way to write the effect:
(Quick Effect): You can discard this card; this turn, monsters require 1 additional Tribute or material to be Tribute, Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz or Link Summoned.
That still doesn't address the issues with Fusions and Synchros, though.
Just as it is worded, 1 additional monster.
Not another copy of a material, not another tuner not a non tuner, just another monster.
1 Shaddoll + 1 EARTH monster turns into:
1 Shaddoll + 1 EARTH monster + 1 monster
Really don't dig deeper than what's writtwn.
Until the TC answers your question, I suppose you're going to have to assume that Fusions will probably need another monster of some sort and with Synchros, probably added non-Tuner monster (i.e. generic 2-min ones go to 3 with 2 non-Tuner requirement). I don't know either; it's vague.
As to answer the other thing about "why this is in Casual", there's a few reasons.
- No design/intent notes for the section (i.e. why did you make this / what is it supposed to be doing competitively). I don't know when the last time you came around in the section was, but that rule was already in place since mid-2016 and not something that got put out there just recently.
- Probably the ambiguity of how this effect is worded, least in regards to Fusion/Synchros with listed materials instead of (semi)-generic.
I actually left in 2015 so I did not see the new rule.
For the latter, you guys really dig deeper than needed.. It says 1 additional monster.
That means 1 additional monster it is.
Not another copy of a material, not another tuner, etc.
Simply another monster.
1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuners + 1 monster
1 Shaddoll + 1 DARK monster + 1 monster