Jump to content

Photo

Aura Monsters

ability sub-type

Necrobump!

Guest, the last post on this topic is over 30 days old and a new post will be considered as necrobumping!



  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
o_smily

o_smily

    Cannot be used in a Duel

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
    Last Visit Yesterday, 01:30 PM
  • Discord:Osmily#7336

Moved to the Neo Card Maker here.



#2
Dova

Dova

    DovaMod

  • Junior Moderators
  • 3,762 posts
    Last Visit Jan 17 2019 08:36 PM
  • Discord:Dova#1498
  • Alias:Dova
  • Spouse:Dova

The idea is interesting, I will admit. I do get Crystal Beast and Pumpkinprincess vibes, and even Artifacts, but this is I think unique enough and gives you enough creative freedom to make it stand on its own. I like its relative simplicity, much more so than most you tend to see on this side of the forum, and it's not even a new Summon type :D

A question, though: Why not have these become "Aura Spell Cards" as a new Type of Spell Card? It makes life easier because you can word stuff like Fragrant Oak: "You can Special Summon this card (from your hand or GY) by sending 2 Aura Spell Card you control to the GY" (There has yet to be any form of Tributing of Spell/Trap Cards, even of monsters in that Zone, so unless you want to do another experimental thing, maybe sending is better :P) and "You can activate that Aura monster as an Aura Spell Card" (No need to use place and activate, as activating a Card involves placing.) This could shorten your card text and make it less complicated at the same time, as well as allowing non-Aura monsters to be potentially activated as Aura Spell Cards, should you desire it later.
 

And I do have three mechanical problems with it, mostly regarding chains.

  • The activating when it would be sent to the GY. This happens mid-chain, so you can't really activate it at this point. Well, not in a way that you intend; Metaverse can activate a Field Spell mid-chain, but that only places it face-up on the field. While that does count for things like "If a Spell Card is activated" Speed Spell 1 triggers post-chain, a new chain link is not created and the Spell Card is not considered to have been activated for on-activation effects. That means that it's virtually impossible for your opponent to respond to the effect until after the chain, and even then, only with S/T destruction, not negation.
  • Resolving after the chain itself has resolved; why can't it just apply its own effect when the certain condition is reached? It's virtually doing that, except you throw in resolving, which just seems out of place and unneeded. (Note: despite this, I still really like the idea that the card's effects only work after a certain other condition is met, which doesn't activate)
  • The uses of semicolons/colons. Both have only ever been used to signify activating effects, i.e. effects that begin a chain, but it is clear from your info and the use of resolving that these effects don't activate. What you have still work, even the one with targeting, as targeting can happen as part of an effect when the cost/activation steps are skipped (Diamond Dude), technically all costs and such would be part of the effect, as a non-activating effect can't have a cost as such.

Also, one other question I just thought up; how do these cards interact with Infinite Impernance? If I have it negate the effect of the Aura card when its activated by its own effect, does it stay on the field or not? 



#3
o_smily

o_smily

    Cannot be used in a Duel

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
    Last Visit Yesterday, 01:30 PM
  • Discord:Osmily#7336

Thank you for the meaningful and thoughtful questions; they really have me thinking about what you said and I will try my very best to answer and look over each question and problem:

 

...Why not have these become "Aura Spell Cards" as a new Type of Spell Card?

 

The idea has never crossed my mind to simply make a new type of Spell Card specifically for Aura monsters. It would make my cards text much shorter and simpler. If you believe that is a good idea, than I will implement it.

 

 

The activating when it would be sent to the GY. This happens mid-chain, so you can't really activate it at this point. Well, not in a way that you intend; Metaverse can activate a Field Spell mid-chain, but that only places it face-up on the field. While that does count for things like "If a Spell Card is activated" Speed Spell 1 triggers post-chain, a new chain link is not created and the Spell Card is not considered to have been activated for on-activation effects. That means that it's virtually impossible for your opponent to respond to the effect until after the chain, and even then, only with S/T destruction, not negation.

 

Alright, I see what you mean now. So what you are saying, if I gather at this correctly, is that technically there is no way to respond to an Aura Spell Card's activation, since it is Spell Speed 1. If there were to be a solution for this, consider the following: make Aura Spell Cards Spell Speed 2. This would simply manifest itself in the form as putting "...Standby Phase (Quick Effect):...." This, however, may just be faulty reasoning. Instead, for a more simpler solution, we could say that Aura Spell Cards are already Spell Speed 2, similar to Quick-Play Spell Cards. Maybe there is even a chance that making the simple action of placing an Aura Spell Card in the Spell & Trap Zone Spell Speed 2; even though the Aura Spell Card would still be Spell Speed 1, as long as it is an event that starts a chain, the placement could be the only thing that needs to increase in Spell Speed.

 

 

Resolving after the chain itself has resolved; why can't it just apply its own effect when the certain condition is reached? It's virtually doing that, except you throw in resolving, which just seems out of place and unneeded. (Note: despite this, I still really like the idea that the card's effects only work after a certain other condition is met, which doesn't activate)

 

Also a very good point, and of course it is unneeded. For the same reason as your note however, I wanted it to behave that way, so it would have just that much more of a spark of uniqueness. However, two potential solutions for this dilemma could be:

  • Place and activate the Aura Spell Card in the Spell & Trap Zone when it would leave the field. Then, once the conditions are met, the Aura Spell Card is then activated again, resolved, and sent to the GY. If it were to go this way, it would lose its unique resolution ability, but I believe that it would be a plausible wording.
  • Give the Aura Spell Cards an effect upon activation that simply states that, while that effect is active, it is treated as an Aura Spell Card. (This might be able to be simply a game mechanic and not have to actually be printed onto the card.) Then, you can resolve the Aura Spell Card for an effect on resolution. My reasoning behind this suggestion is that since the effect is continually applied, it can still resolve itself for an effect afterward. (This suggestion might be extremely confusing and incorrect; please tell me if so.)

 

The uses of semicolons/colons. Both have only ever been used to signify activating effects, i.e. effects that begin a chain, but it is clear from your info and the use of resolving that these effects don't activate. What you have still work, even the one with targeting, as targeting can happen as part of an effect when the cost/activation steps are skipped (Diamond Dude), technically all costs and such would be part of the effect, as a non-activating effect can't have a cost as such.

 

This is much easier to fix. I could simply reword the text as so (ASC, SP, SS1):

 

"...During your Standby Phase, you can resolve this Aura Spell Card to/, then...[Effect]."

 

Also, one other question I just thought up; how do these cards interact with Infinite Impernance? If I have it negate the effect of the Aura card when its activated by its own effect, does it stay on the field or not? 

 

That is a very good question related to ruling that I may or may not just have to make up.  :tongue:  I would say, with my mechanics, the card would be sent to the GY in both of my possible interpretations of the question you are asking:

  • You target the Aura monster: Obviously, the card would be sent to the GY, since it is a part of its effect to be activated as an Aura Spell Card; if it's effects are negated, then it goes to the GY.
  • You negate the Aura Spell Card: This question is a bit trickier. What I would say is that, if an Aura Spell Card is negated, then it would immediately be sent to the GY. You see, normally, it would behave like a Normal, Quick-Play or Ritual Spell Card, in that it would be sent to the GY once it resolves. Since it is in its effect that keeps it face-up on the field, if its effect were to be negated, then the card would be sent to the GY because there no longer is a factor that keeps it face-up on the field.

 

These were all very good questions, and I thank you for the time you spent reading and responding. I do hope that I've answered any potential problems that you've asked or stated, but please, do continue to criticize my work and answers, if you wish.



#4
o_smily

o_smily

    Cannot be used in a Duel

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
    Last Visit Yesterday, 01:30 PM
  • Discord:Osmily#7336

If someone were to come who was good at coding, that would great; my spoilers are absolutely busted and I have no idea what to do.



#5
o_smily

o_smily

    Cannot be used in a Duel

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
    Last Visit Yesterday, 01:30 PM
  • Discord:Osmily#7336

Quick little bump here for now.



#6
o_smily

o_smily

    Cannot be used in a Duel

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
    Last Visit Yesterday, 01:30 PM
  • Discord:Osmily#7336

Just keeping this on for a while. Bump.



#7
o_smily

o_smily

    Cannot be used in a Duel

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
    Last Visit Yesterday, 01:30 PM
  • Discord:Osmily#7336

I've finally caught up and have fixed (hopefully) the Aura monster's chaining problems. They've been moved over to the Neo Card Maker however, for potentially more attention (and the spoilers work there).






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users