Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in. Login to AccountCreate an Account
Videogames: Smash Bros., Mario Bros., Pokemon, Splatoon, Battletoads
Music: Mostly doujin (Hard) Techno, Trance, EDM and a bit of House, Ambient and Hardcore here and there
Manga: Dorohedoro, Franken Fran, One Piece, Black Clover ftw helll yesh!
Other: lizards, salamanders, atmosphere, time, Madoka
— Don’t forget.
someone is fighting for you.
— As long as you remember her,
you are not alone.
Reminds me of Miracle Flipper. Other than being a Normal Summonable beater with a drawback, this could be used as gimmicky side vs. Sky Strikers: use it as fodder or Summon material to get it into your opponent's Main Monster Zone and disable Sky Striker Spells. WIND/Beast is a rather underused typing too, so I give you bonus points for that xD
So, this is more like a combination of Giga-Brilliant and I will say Leviar in the sense that it puts a monster on board through its detach effect. Sounds a bit unfair IMO if only because in a way it outclasses Brilliant, but it does fills a niche that Leviair doesn't.
Note that Snow Rabbit is Psychic so it won't mesh well with this card and her fellow Ghost Girls. I think you may be onto something with "same Level but different Attribute" condition instead. Then again, Snow Rabbit being Psychic allows it to grab PSY-Frame Tuners, and vice-versa.
Anyway, IMO the conditions on the second effect are way too specific that they make their intention obvious, and personally I don't like this. I would prefer if it had a higher degree of flexibility instead. Take Called by the Grave for example: it's clear that it's effective vs. hand traps, but it was not specifically designed to disrupt those, as it also it works on pretty much any monster with in-GY effects.
Could you elaborate on the decision of adding a "no Trap in GY" condition? I can see it's to keep it slow once you use a copy of the Trap, but is this restriction truly warranted?
Can this be used in an opening turn? I forget the rulings about cards/effects that involve attacking being live in opening turns because there is no Battle Phase and thus monsters cannot attack anyway.
Ruling concerns aside, IDK if this is good enough. The negation only applies on monsters already on board so if they have effects that activate, chances are they already used them by the time there is a monster next to them so you can target the latter and negate the effect of the former.
Well, at the very least is good vs. continuous effects, and to prevent OTKs by battle.
This card's Link Summon cannot be negated. When this card is Link Summoned: Your opponent must Special Summon as many monsters from their hand as possible. While this card is in a Monster Zone, your opponent cannot target monsters for attacks, except "Yokubo, Glorious Patriarch of Excess". If this card is destroyed by an opponent's card (by battle or card effect) and sent to the GY: Your opponent gains 1000 LP.
On the card, this may be a bit controversial but I think it's actually too good. Forcing the opponent to Summon as many monsters a possible from the hand may look like a drawback, but nowadays, monsters you would hold on the hand are small critters with combo (e.g. Armageddon Knight) or hand trap effects, and that can be run over with relative ease. So in a way, you would be disrupting its entire hand trap defenses, as well as combo-starting effects by forcing them to activate their effects during your turn. Not to mention that often you will get a peek on its hand to confirm that it's summoning as many monsters as possible. Sure, it's not good against every deck, namely Blue-Eyes, Mekk-Knights, Kozmo, Altergeist (except by disabling Kunquery?),or anything with Dangers! because of Bigfoot, but against others it can be quite disruptive: vs. Sky Strikers, it will disable Sky Striker Spells during your turn since they will control a monster in a Main Monster Zone, v.s Goukis, you force Armageddon Knight and floaty Goukis without them being unable to make Link plays, vs. BAs, it may force the maideck BAs to self-destruct if they control a non-BA monster; and so on.
For a very large value (e.g. a distance), in which a function basicly reaches the value it is converging against it is usually refered to as being "basicly infinite".
In that regard the naming is actually quite clever, given that it might not be a gross exaggeration.
If the archtype is supposed to include machines large enough that they reach the limit of what is remotely practical they could use the naming in the sense that these machines need to be supplied with fuel/"are ignited", while reaching a practical limit in their size.
Anyways, that is what I was assuming the naming could be refering to.
IDK. I can make sense of the Infinite part. For example, infinite resources they dig for. But still puzzled at the Ignition part. I associate Ignition with FIRE or Pyro stuff.
By the way, the artwork makes me think their playstyle could be related to milling, similar to Digvorzhak.
Im just using "target" since im ripping the effect from Spellbook of the Master.
yeah she's pretty good, i will take your stance though and make her work from graveyard.
Yes, but targeting is a cost, and Master targets as part of the cost, while you don't want to make this card choose the card at the cost/activation step. Hence why other keywords/mechanics are more appropriate for its case.
he is quite oppressive and a lot in one card perhaps, but im apprehensive about weakening him since honestly spellbooks just arent that strong - in play testing he's been fairly balanced but it's almost sincerely because he's the boss of the deck - I may nerf him a bit if the other cards i made prove to make him too strong. iirc he does require a spellcaster on board in order to use that quick effect, bear in mind that the opponent can remove the og spellcaster and if you try to chain this guy you can end up losing him to to his own mandatory effect. Honestly the whole card is a bit tricky to judge and balance ^^:
Then you have a case of an overly strong card made to compensate for an archetype's lack impact, or in some way carry the archetype. It is not unheard of, and I would say Konami resorts to this sometimes (e.g. Nebula Meteorite, Ultimate Conductor Tyranno?), but it's not a design approach that I encourage.
Unsure about this one. It's basically a Maxx C, and C is a card that OCG kept while TCG banned it, and still both formats have more or less the same top decks. One could make a case that Maxx C isn't really shifting the meta, and thus the same could be said about this card.
Instead of targeting, you can use mechanics like "choose".
That aside, it looks really good. It's pretty much another Blue Boy, and the 2nd effect is a nice bonus for the big Prophecies and pseudo-Prophecies as Saiyan stated. I dont like too much how it can use both effects in the same turn by first Summoning it, then using other effect, which the first effect assists to set up. I would prefer if it was an in-GY effect instead, a bit more like Vampire Sorcerer, or had a Dragon Ruler OPT.
Text fix, assuming the 2nd effect works like Traptrix Rafflesia rather than replacing the monster's entire effects with the Spell's effect:
(Quick Effect): You can reveal 1 "Spellbook" Spell in your hand, then banish 1 "Prophecy" card from your GY; immediately after this effect resolves, Normal Summon this card from your hand. If this card is Summoned: You can reveal 1 Normal or Quick-Play "Spellbook" Spell in your hand; this effect becomes the revealed card's effect when that card is activated. You can only use each effect of "The Prophecy of Paths" once per turn.
You are already giving them Fate as a 2nd Blue Boy, and now an Spellbook duplicator? Quite interesting because while it can lead to some power plays by duping potent Spellbooks like Fate and Life, it's also dead if you happen to not have any Spellbook at hand.
The summoning condition is conflicting. You can Tribute Spell/Traps for some monsters like True Dracos, but banishing cards from the GY instead? IIRC is unheard of. The intentions are understandable and all, I just think there may be a more appropriate way to write it.
Anyway, this guy is insane: easy to Summon of you got Spellbooks in GY, the floodgate effect looks really oppressive, and as if that wasn't enough it has a two-sided Trishula-ish effect, let alone the Quick Tribute Summon effect. That's too much for a single card, IMO.
More consistency between Spellbooks and Prophecies. For instance, it can grab Blue Boy, who can grab Secrets, which can grab another Blue Boy, just for the deck thinning. At least it requires a Spellcaster on board, and that can be a problem when you don't have any around. Then, I can see how nicely the 2nd effect works with the first, allowing you to Normal Summon a Level4 or lower Prophecy monster that you grab. At least it has a Dragon Ruler hard OPT clause.
Spell/Traps don't have Quick Effects.
This card looks insane, IMO. Full blanket protection from effects for your Prophecies and Spellbooks. Would this also protect them from activation and Summon negations? IDK, since this applies anywhere, not just on cards on the field.
The 2nd effect looks like a cheap way to recycle your cards and stay longer on the game, when normally Spellbooks rely on Eternity or just run out of fuel.
A sweet clever gem, IMO. Removal through Tributing reminiscent of Stormforth and Soul Exchange, with less restrictions in exchange of being a trap. Evil and greedy me would suggest to add a condition to activate from the hand, but that may be too much. Or at the very least allow the effect to use both battling monsters as Tribute, that way you can declare attack on a monster with a smaller critter, and Tribute the opposing monster anyway.
So what if I knocked the number down a little bit to say Nyx's suggestion, 5. That would be a lot less drastic in terms of how much cards you are looking through right?
IDK about that. While it would reduce the stack you can pick a card from, also it would reduce the risk of banishing key cards or combo pieces, which is one of this card's original drawbacks. Not to mention it would still be a better Duality, and arguably safer since you aren't banishing as many cards. I still stand on adding an extra restriction, just so it doesn't outclass Duality.
Even with the Special Summon lock, it still looks to me like a better Duality. The only drawback is losing combo pieces that could be later searched from the deck, but other than that, cards banished face-down are comparable to cards in the deck from the perspective of usefulness.
I'm thinking you could add an additional restriction similar to Cards of Demise, in that it requires X or less number of cards in hand to be live. That way at least it has a drawback of being dead if you draw too many monsters that you cannot get on board.
It may as well be a Pot card, since it's an hybrid of Duality and Desires. Looks good, and it doesn't quite outclasses Desires because you trade 1 card for the ability to choose a card among 10. But what I dislike about it is how it practically outclasses Duality: it has no Special Summon lock, and you get to pick from a bigger pool of cards.
Amusing gimmick, but I don't really see it working, at least not competitively. Getting the 3 kills with the Fairy and the Cont. Spell won't be an easy task, and it's vulnerable to be disrupted by both monster and Spell/Trap removal.
Personally I would put the gimmick aside and focus on Ritual Summoning the Serpents, maintain card advantage through their float effects and the Egg Trap, and further support them with Impcantantions and Manju/Senju. I would mention the Rites Spells but... these Rituals actually don't benefit from either of them.
Funnily enough, Benten as a tech can be used to search for the Fairy one.
Gimmick Puppet – Chimera Doll
Link 2 DARK Machine Link Effect Monster
Link Arrows: Bottom-Left, Bottom-Right
Link Materials: 2 Machine monsters You can use the [(1)st] effect with this card’s name only once per turn.
(1) During your Main Phase, if this card was Link Summoned: You can activate this effect; for the rest of this turn, you cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck, except Machine Xyz Monsters, also take 1 “Gimmick Puppet” monster from your Deck, and either add it to your hand or send it to the GY, then, if all monsters you control (min. 1) are face-up “Gimmick Puppet” monsters, you can Special Summon 1 “Gimmick Puppet” monster from your hand.
No expert on Gimmick Puppets so I can't gauge just how good this is. I can tell it assists for an Xyz Summon but you still need some set-up to do so (e.g. fodder for a milled Dreary Doll, Magnet Doll on hand).